In house education for new and seasoned employees

Hi all, 

I am the education coordinator at Ever'man Natural Food Coop here in Pensacola, the only coop between New Orleans and Tallahassee. I wanted to get some suggestions for how other coops continually educate their employees on the coop world, from product knowledge, labelling, new developments, to basic customer service techniques. I am relatively new at this position (5 months) and I have never had the responsibility of training so many people (I think the most I ever had in one session were 12, and here I have to train and retrain our entire staff of over 50). However, I am up to the task, and I simply want to know how others keep their staff's up to date.

Let me explain my current situation. Our board asked that we implement some product knowledge training. Fortunately, NCGA has a training manual that covers most of these issues. I have downloaded the NCGA training guide and am currently converting it into powerpoints. I have started training our employees in sessions that take place several times a week, and they are all expected to attend one of those sessions each week. I do three throughout the week so that  regardless of when they are/arent working, they should be able to make it to one. This is where my problem begins. I first have to get permission from their department heads to let them take off work. they have given me half an hour each session to train their employees. A half hour to cover what can sometimes be 20 pages in the manual. I then have to go around before each session and make sure they all know about it, then remind the dept heads. Then once the class if over, there is little accountability to see whether they actually learned the information and retained it.